Exploring Hong Kong (Again)

Our trip to Hong Kong felt like a series of trips to bookstores, coffee shops, and quaint restaurants. Almost every store there had a unique concept and character and it was an absolute joy to be walking down its streets with cold wind cuddling you every so often.

One of my favorite stops was the University of Hong Kong. I think it was the coldest place we went to since it was really uphill and I guess those were mountains we saw on the way.

image

image

Having been born and raised in a tropical country, I couldn’t even take my hands out of my pockets. Hehe. Hello to the two ladies taking a selfie behind me!

Since it was really cold, the first thing we looked for was coffee. We walked inside the campus and found a branch of Cafe France.

image

While we were enjoying the coffee-induced warmth, I saw a sign by the cashier that said the cafe only serves university students and faculty. I told my aunt about it and we just laughed it off, feeling a bit proud that we passed as students since we got our orders with no questions asked. Hehe.

After the coffee detour, we went on with our agenda which was to check out the university bookstore.

image

There were several bookstores inside the university but we had no time to check out the others because this one alone already practically took our breaths away. They have a really wide selection of books from pop to literary winners, but what I appreciated the most was their special section for local Hong Kong writers. Such support. I also got a lot of free postcards and other publications from the bookstore. Yehey!

Our next stop after the university was this hole-in-the-wall tea cafe at Kennedy Town called Teakha. The moment we stepped inside, I felt some sort of irrational kilig invade my heart especially when I saw this:

image

I screamed internally because I didn’t have a book (that I was prepared to part with) at that time. I would have loved to participate in this book exchange thing and I didn’t have the heart to just grab a book without leaving one in return even though the cafe seemed totally cool with it.

Just as cute and cozy the place was (sorry I don’t have photos, I was busy being in awe), the food was also impeccable.

image

This combination was a big winner. I forgot the name of the dish on the skillet but it was an elaborate kind of omelette that really savory, a perfect complement to the matcha flavor of the cheesecake.

image

Gluttony caught on cam. Oh my goodness. Hehe.

Since we were so full from the Teakha adventure, we decided to walk around the block. There was a steep flight of stairs that we climbed and it was funny how small the steps were. We had to walk sideways. Hehe. The walk and the climb was definitely worth it when we stumbled upon this store, ethos.

image

ethos (yes, with small ‘e’) was a store that refuses to be put in a box. It’s a coffee shop, cafe, rtw store, and one that holds small classes for different creative endeavors. Just wow. The simple yet striking interiors are also noteworthy.

And then we were back in the car and off to another mini adventure. We decided to try a local favorite and asked our driver for a recommendation. He mentioned the long lane of dried seafood that’s really popular among locals and tourists alike.

image

We enjoyed walking down the dried seafood street and marveled at the delicacies we saw along the way. I love how everything screams Chinese; it made me feel like a true outsider but at the same time a welcome observer.

image

image

image

image

For dinner, we went to Jamie’s Italian at Causeway Bay. Apparently Jamie Oliver is a famous chef and I only understood the hype when I tasted their food. Happy tummy.

image

They had a sort of open kitchen concept and I only took this photo as we were about to leave the restaurant. I was obviously too busy eating.

image

When we finally got back to the hotel, I didn’t feel like sleeping or packing yet. (We were to leave the next day for Singapore.) So I decided to go down and explore the mall connected to our hotel. I wanted to have some Exploring Hong Kong Alone time even for a little while. Hehe.

image

I went to this bookstore that was having a clearance sale. Unfortunately, nothing caught my fancy so I went out empty-handed. Good thing I saw an outlet store of Giordano that was on super sale so I got to buy pasalubong for my parents and brothers.

I went back to the hotel and got ready to pack…

image

…but not without taking this elevator selfie. Hahaha.

‘Til the next time, Hong Kong! 🙂

Leave a Reply

