I’ve never had this much free time in forever

The title says it all. I can’t even remember the last time I’ve had this much free time where I’m actually free to do as I wish. Today is Day 4 of my 6 straight days of no work due to the country’s APEC hosting. Typical me, I mostly just stayed at home and did my best to catch up on my sleep, reading, watching, and writing – in that order.

image
So thankful for the guilt-free opportunity to just lounge around

One part of me says I should spend the break doing more productive things, and the other (more persistent) part says I should savor this time and just slow down because come Monday, things will go back to their crazy pace again. I tried to listen to both parts of me so I managed to squeeze in the writing of two reports for work yesterday.

By the way, is it just me, or is everyone having twice more craving when you’re at home? The other day my family and I had pizza and the entire lunch we barely spoke a word to each other because we were just so absorbed in the pizza-eating moment.

image
All dat cheese

I finished reading Dead Poets Society the other day and it was one of those rare occurrences in which I liked the movie version better than the book.

image

Which is understandable, considering it was a movie turned into book, and not the other way around. Regardless, carpe diem!

I’m now reading Charlson Ong’s Banyaga which is one of my favorite books. I first read it in college and thought it’s time for a re-visit. You know what they say – you never really leave those you love (and vice versa, of course).

This morning I did a little biking and as usual, the glitter of the asphalt, the wind on my face, and the steady speed brought magic in me.

We’re down to the last three days of vacation, but as I learned from my college favorite show One Tree Hill, “Every song ends, but is that any reason not to enjoy the music?”

Leave a Reply

