Mr. & Mrs. Sis

It’s late at night and the long weekend has officially started. I close my eyes and I’m transported to four months ago when my brother, sister-in-law and I had our first “business venture” together when we joined 98B Collaboratory’s Saturday x Future Market in Escolta. I don’t know about you, but I thought our name was pretty cool and not to mention totally spot on – Mr. & Mrs. Sis. Need I say explain more? Hehe. It was such a fun, albeit tiring, day and I almost want to kick myself for not writing about it when everything was still raw and the natural high from a fulfilled day is at its peak. I mean, I love writing about and examining things in hindsight, but I also think there’s a certain beauty in “fresh”  and “right-after” perspective. Ugh I blabber way too much.

Well you know what they say: better late than never. So this is me revisiting one of my most memorable Saturdays so far this year.

Oh btw, these are Mr. and Mrs. the night before the market day. Apparently cramming doesn’t end in school. Hehe.
image

I was in charge of making our DIY business cards and they did the more seriously artistic stuff. Hehe. We slept at around 2:30 a.m. and left the house at around 7:00 a.m. in time for the 9:00 a.m. opening. I was at the backseat of the car but I wasn’t alone…
image

image

…because I had all these goodies beside me. It was quite cozy. Haha.

The drive took a little over an hour and finally we were at First United Bldg. Time to set up!

image
My brother John specializes in handpainted Star Wars sneakers. My sister-in-law Juno, having awesome drawing skills, also helps him out.

image

Trivia: even though our flagship (flagship?!) product was handpainted sneakers, we only had four pairs to sell that day. We were really just testing the waters and weren’t sure if there was a market for such. One not-so-nice woman also came to us while we were setting up, scrutinized the shoes, asked how much and frowned when we said Php400 per pair. She said it was too expensive and us being total newbies, we decided to price it at Php350 because the woman was such a morale-booster…not. But we’ve learned our lesson: do not sell yourself short!

In keeping with the theme of Pinoy komiks, we also had other products on the side.

image
Pinoy komiks shirts and notebooks, my "infinity" cards, Ate Marie/Juno's handpainted tote bags

image
image
image
image
image

Ate Marie and I are both bookworms and we also sold some of our books. I think we both had to mentally prepare ourselves for the separation that we had to go through with our books. Haha.
image
image
image

Happy customers!

image
She bought the very first pair!

image

We don’t have photos of the other two customers who bought the last two pairs (one of them was my friend), but they were just as happy. Hehe.

Here’s a glimpse of the crowd.
image
image

One of our booth displays was such a hit; a handful of people asked if it was for sale and I was like, “Um, no, sorry.” but deep inside, “It’s miiiiiine.” Hahaha.

image
"...against all discouragement that could be."

image
image
image

The market ended at 6:00 p.m. and by that time, practically all our products were sold out. It turned out way better than expected and we were very happy and thankful.

image
Thanks to everyone who came! 🙂

We had a celebratory team dinner at Burger King afterwards.
image

And now, it is with pure excitement and joy that I announce that we’ll be joining another bazaar, the Maker’s Market at Estancia, Capitol Commons on September 26! We’ll mostly be selling the handpainted sneakers and we’ve rebranded as @faceoffkicks (please follow us on Instagram to view our ever-expanding designs!).

In my excitement, I made some sort of a countdown poster everyday since last Sunday. I used my very amateur photo-editing skillz and I think it’s not so bad. Haha.
image
image
image
image
image

Very much looking forward to Maker’s Market! Hope to see you there! :):):)

Leave a Reply

