Type Lab MNL

The Friday before Type Lab MNL, I saw a write-up about it on the Young Star section of the Philippine Star. I showed it to my friend Aaron and the next thing I knew, we were already signing up for the event. Type Lab MNL? What is that? Well, it’s the first ever type conference in the Philippines where the creative chemistry of drawing and writing letters took center stage. It was held last July 3-4 at the Roof Deck Events Center of Century Mall in Makati City. And it was awesome.

image
Awesome event poster is awesome

If you were there and you didn’t get inspired to sharpen your handlettering and calligraphy skills, don’t even talk to me. (‘Coz I won’t believe you. Hehe.)

I took very few photos during the event because I was busy being amazed at all the handmade works of the speakers. Indeed, there is no limit to what the human mind can conceive and what the human hand can create. Creating, after all, is a very human trait. We’re all creatives, hey!

image
Day 1 of #TypeLabMNL

Aside from the talks of the eight artists, several pop-up stores were there for your handlettering and calligraphy tools. Aaron and I bought calligraphy pens, ink, and brush markers. We’re still trying to master how to use them. Hehe. There were also some exhibit walls featuring different works of up and coming artists. They’re such a beauty to look at.

image

image

image

image
I love this work! The calligraphy style goes really well with Sarah Kay's words, methinks.

And oh, did I mention they gave out a really cute notebook as conference token?

image
Type mo yung pun? (Type...)

The conference kit also included postcards from the speakers. I love that they each have their own style and each one is unique and just wow. They make the art of writing look so easy!

image

And because we’re taking this handlettering thing seriously, we bought this guidebook by Abbey Sy, one of #TypeLabMNL’s speakers and co-organizers. She’s such an accomplished artist at such a young age (22). Life peg. Hehe.

image

It’s been exactly a week since that rainy weekend when type nerds united to listen and learn from some of the country’s type gods and goddesses. Confession: Not a day went by since #TypeLabMNL when I didn’t create something type-ish. My works are far from being great but I actually love them. I realized the process of creating is just as important and beautiful as the creation itself.

image
My current creativity notebook. Can't wait to fill the pages with anything even just remotely artsy. Hehe.

Here are some of the things I’ve made so far. (I feel so vulnerable right now posting them here but here you go…)

image
Picked up this advice from Jelvin Base
image
On the morning of #TypeLabMNL day 2, I opened Tumblr and wrote the first quote I saw that appealed to me. How fitting because I love Khaled Hosseini.
image
I was on my way home from work when this song played and I realized its chorus was really sweet. So I wrote it down when I got home. Sweet. Hehe.
image
Notice the fine print
image
I blame Guardians of the Galaxy. I watched it the other day and I think it has a killer soundtrack.
image
According to Berlin Art Parasites, "aromate" is that platonic friend who's pretty much your soulmate but in a friend way. Cameo role: twin iced gem. Double cuteness.

Owkayyy. There you go. I’m just going to leave them here. Hehe.

One of my favorite lessons I got from #TypeLabMNL is the Bruce Wayne – Batman dichotomy. If you have a day job that’s keeping you from doing things you love, just think about how Batman needs to be Bruce Wayne to be able to afford being Batman. So just hustle and don’t suppress your inner Batman, that masked vigilante artist whose works just might make the world a better place! 🙂

Leave a Reply

